Avengers Assemble review

Written and directed by Buffy creator Joss Whedon, Avengers Assemble is the latest blockbuster from Marvel Studios featuring the iconic superheroes.

The six gifted protagonists – Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr), Captain America (Chris Evans), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), Dr. Bruce Banner a.k.a. The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), and Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) – form Nick Fury’s (Samuel L. Jackson) dream S.H.I.E.L.D. team.

Teamed up to become Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, they must fight and defeat Norse God Loki (Tom Hiddleston) and his alien army from enslaving humanity.

Yes, the plot sounds clichéd on world domination, but it is the action sequences that make Avengers Assemble such a thrilling and fantastic film to experience.

The performances from the leading stars are superb, especially Ruffalo as Dr. Banner who looses his temper to become the terrifying Hulk. Bruce Banner’s intelligence is unparalleled and is much greater than Tony Stark, while his compassion for human life is what drives the good side to his character.

As for Hiddleston, he is a revelation as Loki. The actor brings intriguing layers to the evil overlord and makes Loki much more than the typical one-dimensional villain in common action films.

Whedon provides plenty of laugh out loud moments thank to a great script full of witty lines. There are also many references to the comics, a nod to the die-hard Marvel fans while entertaining the newcomers.

I would highly recommend Avengers Assemble. Joss Whedon has indeed delivered the perfect superhero film combining a great script, thrilling action scenes, impressive CGI and pitch-perfect performances from a terrific cast. The best 142 minutes you can enjoy in the company of Marvel’s finest heroes.

Vettel returns to winning ways in Bahrain

The familiar sight of Sebastian Vettel winning a race made a reappearance following a faultless drive from the reigning world champion in the Bahrain Grand Prix.

The German held off the challenge from Lotus to get his title defence back on track with his twenty-second career Grand Prix victory – his first this season – and he now leads the world championship for Red Bull Racing.

The pace of the Lotus was impressive, with both Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean able to match the leading Red Bull on lap times.

To finish in second and third is a great result for Lotus. For Raikkonen, this drive to the runner-up spot has silence his critics that he still has the desire to go racing in Formula One.

While Grosjean should be immensely proud by recording a podium result in only his fourth race since making his Formula One comeback.

Mark Webber took fourth for Red Bull Racing, while pit-stop problems consigned front row starter Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren to eighth. Nico Rosberg completed the top five after an eventual race for Mercedes.

It soon became clear that the Lotus duo had stunning race pace. Although Vettel stormed away from initial pursuers Hamilton and Webber, Grosjean and Raikkonen were making quick progress up the order.

Grosjean had moved into fourth at the start, and then picked off Webber and Hamilton on laps four and seven.

While Raikkonen vaulted from P11 to seventh off the line, had a quick wheel-banging battle with Felipe Massa’s Ferrari, then got up to third by the time the first pit-stops were done – by virtue of a string of passes and a long first stint.

The Iceman then closed on Grosjean, passing his Lotus team-mate on lap 24, just before their second pit-stops, and started hunting down race leader Vettel.

As they approached the final tyre changes, Raikkonen was on Vettel’s rear wing and was able to take several looks at passing the Red Bull.

The tension eased after the final pit-stops, with Vettel able to rebuild a slight gap over the Lotus and held it to the flag.

Mark Webber finished in an unchallenged fourth position, but there was plenty of action behind the Australian.

Rosberg slipped back to ninth on a scrappy opening lap, before recovering to fifth – although he attracted the stewards’ attention along the way after some aggressive defensive moves against Hamilton and Alonso.

The way Rosberg defended his race position by forcing Hamilton way off the track was over the top and against the sport’s governing body code of leaving a car’s width. As for the incident involving Alonso, yes, he made his one move but